There are many organisations and services available to assist carers, but it can be difficult to find them without a bit of guidance.

Carer Support can help to identify the relevant ones for you by meeting or speaking with you – please feel free to get in touch.

As a starting point, we have put together a list of helpful links below which may be of interest.

Carer Gateway – www.carergateway.gov.au or 1800 422 737 – provides information about the services and support available for people who care for someone with a disability, a chronic illness, dementia, mental illness or who is frail aged.

Recreation Link Up –  www.reclinkup.ymca.org.au

Anglicare SA – anglicaresa.com.au/housing/homelessness-tenancy-support-services – tenancy support

Salvation Army – www.salvationarmy.org.au/en/Find-Us/South-Australia/Social-Support – social support

Enable Me – enableme.org.au – stroke support and carer information

Weavers – weavers.tacsi.org.au – one-on-one support for carers

Working Carers Gateway – www.workingcarers.org.au – this website for working carers in NSW provides access to useful fact sheets and articles. You can also subscribe to their newsletter.

Minda // www.mindainc.com.auwww.facebook.com/mindainc

Epilepsy Centre // www.epilepsycentre.org.au

Disability Advocacy and Complaints Centre of South Australia // www.dacssa.org.au

Disability Rights Advocacy Service // www.dras.com.au

Novita // www.novita.org.au

National Disability Insurance Scheme // www.ndis.gov.au

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion // www.dcsi.sa.gov.au/services/disability-services

scosa // www.scosa.com.au

Autism SA // www.autismsa.org.au

My Time // www.mytime.net.au // social groups for parents

Brain Injury Network of SA Inc (BINSA) // braininjurysa.org.au

South Australian Men’s Shed Association (SAMSA) – www.samensshed.org & www.facebook.com/pages/South-Australian-Mens-Shed-Association

Australian Men’s Shed Association (AMSA) – www.mensshed.org

Bene – www.bene.org.au – Italian welfare

Greek Welfare Society – www.greekwelfaresa.org.au

Chinese Welfare Services of SA Inc – chinesewelfareservices.org.au/our-services/969/home-and-community-care

My Aged Care – www.myagedcare.gov.au

Uniting Communities –  www.unitingcommunities.org

Catalyst Foundation (formerly Seniors Information Service) –  www.catalystfoundation.com.au

My Aged Care Guide –  www.agedcareguide.com.au/?stateid=5

Life Care respite services –  www.lifecare.org.au/respite-services

Aged Care Complaints Commissioner website – new from 1 Jan 2016: www.agedcarecomplaints.gov.au

Aged Right Advocacy Services (ARAS) –  www.sa.agedrights.asn.au

Emergency: 000

  • Lifeline: 13 11 14
  • Kids Helpline: 1800 551 800
  • Suicide Call Back Service: 1300 569 467
  • SANE Helpline: 1800 187 263
  • Crisis Care (4pm-9am): 13 16 11
  • Domestic Violence Helpline (24 hours): 1800 800 098
  • Domestic Violence Crisis Service: 1300 782 200
  • Yarrow Place Rape and Sexual Assault Service: 8226 8787 (24 hours); 1800 817 421 (toll free)
  • Rural & Remote Mental Health Service of SA: 13 14 65
  • Alcohol and Drug Information Service (24 hours): 1300 131 340
  • Health Direct ‘Your 24 hour health advice line’: 1800 022 222
  • Mental Health Resource Centre: (08) 8221 5166
  • Blue Knot Foundation: 1300 657 380 & www.blueknot.org.au
    Blue Knot Foundation provides professional phone support, information, resources, tools and workshops to help survivors of childhood trauma and their friends, families, partners and loved ones live better lives.
  • Legal Services Commission – www.lsc.sa.gov.au – Free general legal advice by appointment to all persons, regardless of income.
  • Seniors Information Service –  www.seniors.asn.au
  • Southern Community Justice Centre: www.scjc.com.au – First interview free to most clients. Ongoing assistance at no cost to eligible clients.
  • Women’s Legal Services –  www.wlssa.org.au
  • Carer Support Past Carers’ Information Booklet (Download here or phone (08) 8379 5777 to request a copy)
  • Checklist – Who to Notify When a Loved One Has Passed (Please phone (08) 8379 5777 to request)

Skylight Mental Health – www.skylight.org.au
Beyond Blue – www.beyondblue.org.au
Lifeline – www.lifeline.org.au