Lorraine Sheppard appointed chair of Carer Support’s new look board

Carer Support’s new chair is Lorraine Sheppard, who is not only a carer but also an experienced consumer representative in the disability sector.

Lorraine SheppardMs Sheppard is one of four new board members, along with Adam Kennedy, Bill Miliotis and Toni Richardson, who were elected at Carer Support’s Annual General Meeting on Thursday, 27 September 2018.

Lorraine currently holds a non-executive director role at Aliro, Housing Solutions for Disabled, a start-up company focusing on NDIS clients with specialist disability accommodation (SDA). She brings to the Board extensive experience in areas such as consumer representation, governance, strategy and finance, and risk mitigation.

Lorraine takes on the role of a carer representative on the Board and says, “My many years of experience as a carer for various family members enable me to advocate with passion and strength as a carer.”

The Board provides leadership for carrying out Carer Support’s mission to provide flexible, responsive services to carers, families and individuals and to ensure that we remain committed to being consumer driven, flexible, respectful, honest and connected.

Julie Urry and James McGill remain in their existing roles of Vice Chairperson and Treasurer, respectively. Existing Board members, some of whom were re-elected, are: Patrizia Kadis, Amy Liaw, Norman Ogier, and Gay Thompson. Dianne Stewart and Jocelyn Gibson both retired from the Board, while Tracey Kneebone was not re-elected.

Peter Sparrow, Carer Support’s Chief Executive Officer is delighted to see Lorraine take on the role of Chair. And congratulates all the new members on their appointments.

“Our four newest Board members, together with our existing members, bring deep community knowledge, as well as experience, expertise and passion to the table. We are very fortunate to have them with us as we continue to deliver positive outcomes for carers and consumers, while embracing reform and endeavouring to raise our public profile so that we can deliver more services to more people in need”, said Peter.

Bill Miliotis joins the Board as Community Representative. He is a former carer and present Director of Realise Your Vision, and has over 10 years of board level experience across the public, commercial and not-for-profit sectors with particular experience in the mental health and disability support industries. With a commitment to individual recovery and strong belief in social justice, Bill actively promotes inclusion, growth and individual choice, placing clients at the centre of service delivery and decision-making.

Adam Kennedy joins the Board as a Carer Representative, and is Managing Director at AME Recruitment. He has a passion for the not-for-profit and community sector having been on the Board of Motor Neurone Disease Association of SA for 12 years, eight of which he served as Chairman (and SA’s representative to the Motor Neurone Disease Association of Australia). He has first-hand experience as a primary carer and understands that the role a carer plays in a person’s quality of life cannot be underestimated or overstated.

Toni Richardson joins the Board as a Carer Representative. She is Manager, Business Engagement and Transformation at the Department for Education, South Australia, and she has extensive experience within the public service, coupled with a comprehensive understanding of board governance within not-for-profit organisations and a passion for social justice. As the mother of a child with a disability, she understands the challenges people in carer roles have, including navigating the NDIS process.

Board group photo

The full list of board directors is:

Lorraine Sheppard, Chair
Julie Urry, Vice Chair
James McGill, Treasurer 
Patrizia Kadis
Adam Kennedy
Amy Liaw
Bill Miliotis
Norman Ogier
Toni Richardson
Gay Thompson